French programme by the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Season 2016-2017: Main Season

The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra is delighted to present a programme by French composers Berlioz, Poulenc and Saint-Saëns on Friday 24 March at 8pm at the National Concert Hall in Dublin. This concert will be conducted by French conductor Jean-Luc Tingaud.

BERLIOZ Les nuits d’été [31’]
POULENC Les biches Suite [16’]
SAINT-SAËNS Symphony No. 3 in C minor, ‘Organ Symphony’ [36’]

Composed in the wake of his failed marriage to Irish actress Harriet Smithson, Berlioz’s Les nuits d’été is a haunting leave-taking of love, full of light and shade, languorous, airy, melancholic. Poulenc’s saucy ballet suite Les biches playfully hints at a host of other composers (Mozart, Tchaikovsky and Stravinsky included) in a deliciously frothy and naughty concoction. Saint-Saëns’ Third Symphony is a feast of memorable melodies, none more glorious than its magically twinkling piano duet theme and soaring organ chorale.

JPEG - 52.3 kb
French conductor Jean-Luc Tingaud

Rachel Kelly mezzo-soprano (replacing Ailish Tynan)
Jean-Luc Tingaud conductor
Presented by Paul Herriott, RTÉ lyric fm

SOUNDINGS 7pm: In Conversation Rachel Kelly & Jean-Luc Tingaud with Dearbhla Collins

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Season 2016-2017: Main Season
Friday 24 March 2017, 8pm,
@ The National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2
Tickets: €15, €23.50, €29.50, €35 (Limited concessions available: €13.50, €21.15, €26.55, €31.50)
Booking: 01 417 0000 | |

**For a chance to WIN TICKETS check out our Facebook Page**

Published on 15/03/2017

top of the page