Ireland Francophonie Ambassadors’ Literary Award 2019 [fr]

Created in 2016 by the 26 embassies of the International Organisation of La Francophonie (IOF) represented in Ireland, the Prix Littéraire des Ambassadeurs de la Francophonie en Irlande - Ireland Francophonie Ambassadors’ Literary Award aims to highlight the role of literary French in transmitting the values of La Francophonie.

This prize, is awarded to an Irish writer recently translated into French, in partnership with Literature Ireland, the national organisation for the international promotion of Irish literature, and the Alliance Française de Dublin.
The prize will seek to reflect the key values of cultural and linguistic diversity, democracy and human rights, education and research, sustainable development and solidarity defended by the Francophonie.

For the 2019’s edition 4 authors are nominated :

  • Sebastian Barry, Des jours sans fin, [Days without End], Editions Gallimard, translated by Laetitia Devaux
  • Sara Baume, Dans la baie fauve, [Spill Simmer Falter Wither], Les Editions Noir sur Blanc, translated by France Camus Pichon
  • Roddy Doyle, Smile, [Smile], Éditions Joëlle Losfeld, translated by Christophe Mercier
  • Conor O’Callaghan, Rien d’autre sur Terre, [Nothing on Earth], Editions Sabine Weispeiser, translated by Mona de Pracontal


The Jury is constituted of the 26 Ambassadors of following countries, all member of the International Organisation of La Francophonie : Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates

The jury will render its verdict during an official ceremony to take place in March 2019.

The winning author will be awarded a 1500€ prize.
The translator will receive a three weeks training with Literature Ireland.


This prize is part of the Francophonie Festival in Ireland.


Published on 22/02/2019

top of the page